the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

We have some timber

on June 23, 2014

The kids and I did our daily stop at our block after school pickups this afternoon.

The timber frame for the concrete slab has been constructed. I don’t know if anything else needs to be done prior to the slab being poured. I also don’t know when they are planning on pouring the slab, as we still haven’t had a phone call from our site supervisor to introduce himself and tell us they are starting. We have some pretty cold weather forecast for the next few days, but no rain predicted until next week. Hopefully they are pouring the slab this week and we don’t get weather delayed.

It’s strange wandering around on our foundations. Trying to picture where the walls will be. Although we are building a big house, it didn’t seem very big when I was walking on it. One day I would like to have a house that absolutely sprawls. Maybe in my next life!

Pics from today:

1. Taken from the top of the driveway. The section that sticks out on the right is the front verandah.

2. Taken from the back of the house, about where the kitchen and laundry are.

3. South East corner of the house – laundry at the back on the right, garage at the front on the right. Airport in the distance.

4. Daily view from the road.

5. The kids posing (they called it the Jesus pose) on top of the surplus dirt, which the digger operator said he would spread out. Hmmmmm………

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

And that’s where we are up to today! You are as up to date as we are. Can somebody please remind me to mail the cheque to the tiling company tomorrow? Thanks.

Karen.


One response to “We have some timber

  1. How exciting! I tried to leave a comment last night but my phone was having issues 🙂
    It would be so good to have a new house to decorate and to add personal touches to…and yeah it would be good to have a really big house but then I always think about the cleaning that needs to be done!!

Leave a comment