the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

My love/hate relationship

on October 31, 2016

Technology.

Love it.

Hate it.

I regularly refer to myself as “techno idiot”. It’s a title I am happy to own, I find no shame in admitting that I don’t know what I am doing when it comes to technology.

It’s great when I want to look up stuff. Like businesses (except in the country not so many businesses have websites), real estate, accommodation, holidays, etc. Like paying bills, booking tickets to events, checking emails. Like Facebooking. Like blogging.

It totally sucks when something along the chain breaks down. Like the printer goes offline and won’t go back online. The only way we’ve discovered to fix it is to uninstall and reinstall it. Except my computer then doesn’t find it. All of a sudden a job that would have taken 5 minutes has taken 20. Or 30. Or 40. Frustrating when I want to print a recipe because I am about to go shopping to buy the ingredients. Frustrating when trying to print the new menu I created for the canteen. Frustrating when you volunteer your time to do the book club orders for the primary school and then can’t print the copy that needs to be sent away with the payments. I may have to email it to the school and ask them to print it. So it then becomes extra work for them too.

Like I try to upload some photos to my blog and I am supposed to be able to insert them and click where I want to type & then be able to type and it won’t allow me to do it. This is why I have some posts with no photos. Because it takes me SO long to figure out how to do it properly. I have to delete and reload the photos a couple of time before I get it right, it is surprisingly time consuming. Maybe not, if I wasn’t a techno idiot!

Were things easier when we had a desk with a computer sitting on it and a printer plugged in? I am so close to going back to that it’s not funny.

Like when we have to reset my phone to it’s factory settings because it keeps shutting itself down. So hubby backed up all my contacts and photos and other important stuff an reset it for me. And then it mixed up some of my contacts – I had some people’s email addresses under other people’s names. So I think I have lost some in my correcting them. But with the world of Facebook, it’s not such a big deal. There’s more than one way to contact people. More than one way to skin a cat, so to speak. And then it doesn’t let me get into my work emails. But when I tried it just now, it did. Go figure.

Like when I turn on my computer and it comes up with some run time error, which it allows me to continue through, then decides it won’t recognise my mouse so I can’t click anything. It won’t recognise the onboard mouse either. So, after I’ve waited too long for my computer to start up, I then have to do a restart to get it working properly. Something that should take less than 5 minutes ends up taking 10 or more. And that’s just to turn the computer on, before I actually do any work on it.

First world problems or what?!

I sound like my Mum when I hear myself saying “I’m meant to be able to turn it on and it works”. It should work. That’s all I expect.

Surely that’s not too much to ask?

What are you like with technology? Do you love it? Do you hate it? Or are you somewhere in between?

Karen.

 

Leave a Reply

