the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

When Is Enough Enough?

on March 25, 2016

This week I hit the 27 kilo weight loss mark. I am happy with that. It’s a 2kg loss for the past month, which is nothing to sneeze at.

Yes, I could have reached it faster, but I was happy to slow the weight loss down over the stinking hot summer months that we have here in the Upper Hunter Region. Which simply means that I indulged in zero carb beer and other alcohol as I wanted.

By now I know it’s going to happen, but I am always amazed at how fast the weather switches from hot to cold here. After temperatures in the 30s in the last week or two, we are down to 11 degrees overnight, with days ranging from 23 to 31 degrees. The cooler evenings means that I am reaching for a cup of tea rather than alcohol, which has to be good!

But, how much weight loss is enough? I am at the stage where people are telling me that I have lost enough, they think I look fabulous and I should stay where I am. But I know that I am still at least 10-15 kilos heaver than what I consider a healthy weight for me. That would put me in the 62-67 kilo weight range. My plan is to get down to 65kg and see what I look like. If I need to drop another few kilos after that then I will, but if I am happy with how I look at 65kg then I will stop there.

But I am over people telling me that I don’t need to lose any more weight. I have told them that I will not go too far. I am currently an Australian size 14-16 and I would like to be a 12-14. That is realistic – I am not seeking a size 8 figure that is hard to maintain. I’ve been a 55kg size 10 with wriggle room in my jeans before and obviously I didn’t stay there! With the way I eat now, my body will lose what it thinks it needs to lose and then it will automatically switch to maintenance mode. I can increase my carb intake whenever I feel I am ready to switch myself into maintenance mode. But I’m not ready to go there yet.

Those of you who are trying to lose weight, so you have a goal weight? How much are you hoping to lose and what are you doing to lose it?

Cheers,

Karen.

 

Leave a Reply

