the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Cracking Up

on March 6, 2016

No, not me – it’s our back yard!

We are on what’s termed black soil, which is highly reactive to environmental factors.

When it rains the soil sticks to your shoes like nothing I’ve ever seen before.

When the weather is dry, the soil shrinks up like nothing I’ve ever seen before.

Our back yard is crunchy and my irrational self tell myself that those cracks are harbouring baby brown snakes and spiders. According to our neighbour, blocks here used to be the local snake track – meaning this is where they were regularly seen. I know there have been a few around during the summer months but none that we saw on our block. I’m happy to believe that they made themselves known to other yards around the place, not ours.

If I tell myself often enough, I might just believe it!

Karen.

Leave a Reply

