the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

DIY McDonald’s

on March 1, 2016

Tonight I made a joke as I served up dinner that the kids were having home made McDonald’s. I dished them up Cheeseburger Casserole and Chips. Yes we still allow them to eat chips, just in smaller portions than before. And they had lots of slices of cucumber on their plate – got to have their crunchy green!

So what the dickens is cheeseburger casserole, I hear you ask?

It’s a beef and bacon fry up with a cheesy, mayonnaisy, eggy topping. Yes, of course they are real words.

Ray & I had ours with vegetables & here’s what our dinner looked like. I have warned you before that LCHF meals don’t always look neat and pretty on the plate, but I’m not a contestant on My Kitchen Rules, so I’m okay with that!

Cheeseburger Casserole

The mince even had pickles through it to reinforce that cheeseburger taste!

Here’s the recipe I used to make it – I doubled it as I had a kilo of mince to use, but I didn’t have the full amount of cheese so I’d like to make it again, with blobs of philly cheese through it and the correct amount of grated cheese, plus more spices to give it more oomph.

But it was well received by the family. I could take or leave it but like I said, I’d like to have another crack at it, making it more personalised to our taste. Liam said it smelled and tasted like a cheeseburger, but to me it didn’t. Maybe because there was no tomato sauce!

The vegetables we had were some brussels sprouts that I had bought frozen & steamed in the microwave to defrost. Then I cut them in half and threw them into the frying pan on the stove top along with some green beans (I put them in frozen) and a sliced up kransky sausage for extra flavour.

There you go – DIY McDonald’s!

What did you have for dinner this evening?

Karen.

 

Leave a Reply

