the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Mice.

on February 20, 2016

Apparently there’s been a bit of noise in the media regarding mice. And Pete Evans, I believe.

I missed it on the tv because I was sick and packed myself off to bed nice and early and got nearly 12 hours of sleep and felt much better when I woke up.

We all know that Pete Evans follows and promotes the Paleo way of eating and the media made fun of him when he started sharing what he eats – remember the whole activated almonds thingy – I also laughed at that idea and I still haven’t activated my almonds.

But his Paleo following has grown, with I don’t know how many thousands of people being fans of it. It is becoming more acceptable. Until the media finds a reason to rubbish it.

I don’t follow a Paleo way of eating, I follow a Low Carb High Fat way of eating. There are differences.

I found an article on another blog here that explains the differences. The major differences I can see is that Paleo doesn’t allow dairy – Pete’s recipe books include how to make your own nut butter and cheese. LCHF allows dairy like cheese, butter and cream but milk can slow your weight loss.  Paleo also allows more carbohydrates than LCHF – it doesn’t count carbs as such, just advises you to stay away from starchy vegetables like potatoes, whereas LCHF points you towards leafy green vegetables.

If the two are mixed, your outcome may be different to what you expect. If you are eating mid carb (like Paleo) instead of low carb (like LCHF) and you are eating high fat, then you might gain weight as your carb count is too high to offset the fat intake. There are foods allowed on Paleo that I don’t eat on LCHF. Like watermelon, grapes, apples and some other fruits. Fruit contains natural sugar, which we have been taught is okay to eat because it’s natural. However, any sugar is carbohydrate and too much combined with high fat will cause weight gain, not loss.

Here is a Paleo food pyramid:

Paleo-Food-Pyramid-Image

 

Here is an LCHF food pyramid:

LCHF Food Pyramid 14 Feb 2016.jpg

They are similar, but not the same. I’m not here to say that one is better than the other. I find that LCHF is more user friendly for me because of the dairy.

I don’t know what they fed the mice, but I suspect from the bits I’ve read that the lines between Paleo and LCHF were blurred and the mice might have been fed a combination of the two. Maybe, maybe not.

I found this on Pete Evans’ Facebook page and if you can wade through the scientific stuff you are doing better than I am! None the less, it does say that LCHF caused weight gain in mice. It also says that this can be reversed by a sufficient Ketogenic diet. BOOM! Keto is LCHF. Do it properly and most people will lose weight. No, I don’t have statistics to back that up, I have my own experience, my husband’s experience and the personal stories of people on Facebook pages I follow. And the number of people who have messaged me to say they have started dabbling in LCHF and are losing weight.

People are not mice. I remember from my high school days that we dissected mice because their digestive system was similar to humans, but somewhere it has to come into play that mice and humans are different. Maybe this is one of those times.

Now, I may be wrong in what I think. And that’s okay. This is my opinion and I’m fine if you have a different opinion to me. Like I said, I have my results that speak for themselves. I’ve been eating LCHF for almost 7 months and a 25kg weight loss is certainly not a weight gain!

Feel free to leave me your opinion.

Karen.

 

Leave a Reply

