the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Valentine’s Day – Do You?

on February 14, 2016

Valentine’s Day.

To me, it’s a load of codswallop. I don’t celebrate it. I don’t need a particular day to tell my husband I love him and he doesn’t need a particular day to tell me he loves me.

If you celebrate Valentine’s Day, I say good on you. I respect that as your choice. I celebrate our difference of opinion. It may be your thing. but it’s not mine.

So I was a bit surprised when Ray bought me a card for Valentine’s Day. I love his humour and the fact that he correctly assumed that I would see it in the same humour. –

Note the badge – Mrs Perfect – he knows he got a good wife when he married me! (And I know I got a good husband when I married him).

Exterior Valentine's Card

Here’s the inside:

Inside Valentine's Card

“I got you the best present I could think of – I went sailing with a mate”.

Yes, people, he spent the day on the harbour, as part of his learning to sail course, with a mate. Who is the hubby in a family we have become firm friends with, so all is good. As I said, I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, so the fact that we were doing separate things today doesn’t matter in the slightest. I know he loves me and he knows I love him. We can celebrate us any day. And we do.

Are you a Valentine’s celebrator?

Karen.

Leave a Reply

