the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Could you be a Midwife?

on January 26, 2016

Last night I was watching the UK version of a tv show called “One Born Every Minute”.

And of course I cried my way through it. I absolutely love babies. I could (and did with our own) stare at them all day and night. I’m the one who will ask if I can mind abscond with your baby so you can shower, eat, use both hands, whatever. You cannot be in the same room as me without your baby ending up in my arms.

I still remember the midwife Tina I had when we had Megan. I came through that labour feeling like I was Superwoman, because she kept telling me I could do it. And she was right. She was exactly what I needed, I truly believe that without her telling me I could do it, I would have given up and looked for other options. With the boys, I had assistance with each birth, after a long labour with Zac and a quick labour with Liam. They were both vacuum extraction – sounds strange to hear that now, but it’s what was needed at the time and I certainly don’t regret it or feel that I failed in any way. No way, no how. We brought those babies into life, the nitty gritty of how they were born doesn’t matter. I was never one to write a birth plan, as I didn’t know what was going to happen in each labour – the midwives and doctors were the experts in that area, not me and I was open to their expertise.

I don’t think I could be a midwife though. Yes, it’s all fine and dandy when the babies you help deliver are born in good health. But for many reasons, not all babies are. That would be my undoing as a midwife. I would be too emotional. I wouldn’t be able to remain detached.

I am an emotional person. I cry when I’m happy, when I’m excited, when I’m sad, when you yell at me, when I see other people cry, when I imagine other people’s emotions, at weddings, funerals, baptisms, school assemblies………..yes, school assemblies! I had my “cry buddies” at our old school, where a few of us would sit together and allow the tears to flow over when the students were performing – and they didn’t even need to be our own kids! I remember several years ago finding a child crying in the school yard one afternoon when I was picking Liam up from school. Of course I went to help the child, with tears in my own eyes just from seeing them upset. They had missed their bus home so I took their hand and took them to the teacher on duty and struggled to hold back the sobs as I explained what had happened. WTF??? Yes, I’m a big sook.

As much as I would LOVE to be a midwife, I think I would cry my way through each birth. If a baby didn’t make it or was born with health issues, I don’t think I would be able to put my own feelings aside to focus on the pain of the parents. My job would be to support them but I would be too focused on my own feelings. I don’t know. Maybe if I had gone into nursing from a young age I would think differently, but if anything, I was going to be a teacher, not a nurse. I knew nothing about babies back then!

A midwife, male or female, is a special breed of person. I take my hat off to them!

Your thoughts?

Karen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

