the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

A Decadent Breakfast

on January 18, 2016

I’m still a bit bored with bacon & eggs, so this morning I went Googling.

I found some recipes for cream cheese pancakes & decided to give them a go.

Here’s what you need:

75g cream cheese
2 eggs
Frying pan
Oil or butter to grease pan

I used a coconut oil spray but you could use coconut oil from the jar or butter. The only other oil we use in our kitchen these days is olive oil. We do have a bottle of avocado oil but haven’t opened it yet. Stay away from vegetable oil or grain oils (e.g. rice bran) as they are said to be inflammatory to the body & discouraged on an LCHF way of eating.

Here’s what I did once I got my ingredients together:

I zapped my cream cheese in the microwave for 30 seconds to soften it. You could get away with 20 seconds I reckon. It still has its shape so grab a fork & stir it up when you take it out of the microwave. Crack your eggs in & grab a whisk & give it a good whisk. About 30 seconds will do it. You can do the whole lot in a blender or mixer but then you have to let it stand for a minute or two so the air bubbles can escape otherwise your pancakes will fall apart.

I made one big pancake, but when I came to turning it, I realised I would have been better making four smaller ones. So I ended up quartering mine as I turned it.

Here’s how it looked:

image

Looks like eggy pancake. And yes, you can still taste the eggs.

Then I dressed it up with some sugar free maple syrup, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries & whippy cream (I buy the one from Aldi as it has the least carbs & sugar).

Voila!

image

It didn’t taste like eggs anymore!

image

It was yummy.

And only 8-10 grams of carbs for the lot (depending on how generous you are with the toppings).

There will be an encore.

What did you have for breakfast?

Karen.

Leave a Reply

