the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Playing in the Kitchen

on December 29, 2015

Today was a good day.

The sun was out and we lazed around home for a while, then went for a ride on our pushbikes, then took the kids to the pool for a swim. A bit of everything.

We also got busy playing in the kitchen.

You know I have realised that I like pickles. I found a recipe for pickled cucumbers on taste website here. Instead of slicing our cucumbers, we simply top & tailed them and stood them upright in two jars, then followed the rest of the steps. In a week they should be ready to eat. In all their pickley, vinegary, cucumbery goodness!

Here’s how they look tonight:

pickled cucmbers day 1

 

I’d also been on the lookout for a dessert recipe and have been toying with the idea of making a LCHF ice cream. There are lots of recipes out there that involve using an ice cream machine, but I don’t own one of those so I was seeking something that was super simple that even I could make.

And I found it! Here is an easy peasy chocolate ice cream recipe from The Banting Chef. LCHF is referred to in some countries as banting and I think this is a website I will be heading back to for some more inspiration. The ice cream is simply coconut cream, cocoa, vanilla essence and xylitol (which is a natural sweetener used as an alternative to sugar). Mix them up, pop the in the fridge to set as a mousse or in the freezer to set as an ice cream. The kids enjoyed this recipe as much as I did, so it’s a definite winner. I wouldn’t eat it every day though, my serve packed about 15 carbs into me, so I went over my preferred 20 gram allowance today. But that’s okay, once in a while doesn’t hurt. Much.

Next time I will have half the serving I did today:

choc coconut ice cream

But I do feel as though I’ve had a chocolate ice cream treat!

What came out of the kitchen at your place today?

Ka
ren.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

