the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Pizza? Yes you can!

on December 28, 2015

Who likes pizza? I know I do. And I’ll bet lots of hands go up whenever that question is asked.

Eating in a Low Carbohydrate, High Fat manner doesn’t have to mean the end of eating pizza. Like many foods, pizza can be adapted to this lifestyle.

It means making your own pizza base and there are a couple of ways to do it.

A quick Google search on LCHF pizza will bring you several links to recipes. I’ll make it easy for you. Go here.

I’ve made cauliflower base, where you pulse a head of cauliflower in a food processor, cook it in the microwave oven and then add eggs, grated cheese, garlic, salt and pizza herbs. Then you halve it (because it makes two bases) and roll each half out and bake it. Then you have a base ready to put your favourite toppings on and then bake to perfection. You can probably do the prep steps in a Thermomix, but I didn’t, as I like to follow a recipe to the “T” before I start playing around with it.

Hubby can’t eat much cauliflower as it is a gout trigger, so we prefer to go with what is known as Fat Head Pizza, which is a cheese base. Goes well with Fat Head Beer – you can’t get more Aussie than beer and pizza!

Fat Head Pizza – the recipe I prefer and used again this evening can be found here on Ditch the Carbs.

It’s pretty simple – some grated cheese, cream cheese, melt in microwave, stir, melt a bit more, add an egg, some salt (I recommend Himalayan Pink Salt), pizza herbs and ground almonds and mix it all up. I should have taken a photo at this stage but I didn’t as I was making a double batch and wanted to get it rolled out before it cooled and became less easy to work with. Once it’s all mixed together, you simply roll it out between sheets of baking paper (so it doesn’t stick to the rolling pin), prick it as much as you can with a fork (to avoid air bubbles) and bake in the oven until it’s golden. It takes around 15 minutes. You can flip it over if you want a crispier crust and I did that for the first time tonight and I won’t flip it next time. It’s better without the flip.

So then you get it out of the oven, prick any air bubbles that have formed, spread your sauce on it and away you go, ready to top it with whatever you like on your pizza. We have discovered a sugar free sweet chilli sauce which goes fabulously on our bases. Pizza sauces, tomato sauces and tomato paste contain a fair bit of sugar and you need to consider if you want to spend the extra carbs or not. One batch of the recipe makes one base of 6 slices, with each slice of base being worth 4 grams of carbs. So, 24 grams for the whole pizza base. That might sound like a lot if you are trying to keep your carbs below 20 grams in a day. but this pizza is so filling you probably won’t eat it all. Mine was cut into 8 pieces and I ate 3. So 24 grams divided into 8 pieces equals 3 grams per piece. I ate three pieces, so that means I ate 9 grams of carbs in my base. The I can calculate my toppings of cheese, bacon, pepperoni, salami and a couple of other meats, which won’t be much. My sauce was zero.  Very workable in a low carb way of eating.

I took some pics so you can see what it looks like.

Top left  – baked bases ready to be topped.

Top right – Mine on the left and Ray’s on the right, ready to go in the oven.

Bottom left – out of the oven & ready to eat!

Bottom right – my leftovers. Tomorrow’s lunch.

Compare that to a wheat based pizza base at 27 grams of carbohydrates per slice, just in the base! I know which one I’d prefer.

So go googling, get experimenting and come back and tell me what you tried and and what you thought of it.

Cheers,

Karen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

