the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

This plus that equals YUM!

on December 21, 2015

Hi again!

Given that so many of you liked last night’s writings about out dinner time picky plates, I thought I would share what I cooked for dinner tonight.

I think I’ve mentioned previously that LCHF meals don’t always look the most attractive, but boy oh boy, they sure taste good!

I decided to make meatloaf, so started with half a kilo of mince and added a few bits to it including ground almonds, an egg, a splosh of olive oil, a large handful of grated mozzarella cheese and the spices/flavours that are in this photo:

meatloaf spices

Next I raided the fridge and found these:

vegatable ingredients

Now you can’t tell me that they aren’t healthy. Or maybe you can. Each to their own. This is how I choose to eat.

Put it all together (with the same spices that I used in the meatloaf) and this is what ends up on the plate:

meatloaf dinner

I had some bbq chicken in the fridge that needed using up, so a generous portion of that was added to our plates as well. Oh, and I grated a bit of parmesan cheese on to the vegetables. My first intention was to include it on the cream sauce but I changed my mind.

A yummy Low Carb, High (good) Fat meal.

The general consensus? The meatloaf was a bit dry, so next time I will either omit the ground almonds or add a second egg. Or more cheese. Mmmmmmmmmm…………..cheese………..

Two, four, six, eight……….tuck in, don’t wait!

What was on your dinner plate tonight?

Karen.

 

Leave a Reply

