the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

A bit of background on why I changed what I eat.

on November 30, 2015

I’ve been asked to share how I’ve managed to lose weight. I’ve lost 20kg in 20 weeks. I am a work in progress, with another 20 – 25kg  to go. A few of you will recognise one of my favourite phrases there – “a work in progress”. I will see how I look at another 20kg & then decide if I want to go further. I have previously been at a lower weight than what that will make me, but I have to be realistic about my age and what looks reasonable at my age rather than looking like a plucked chicken!

I need to start by saying that I have no formal training or qualifications in nutrition or giving dietary advice. That is on my bucket list and there are a few reasons why I haven’t started studying yet. One day.

In July this year, we went on holidays to the Gold Coast and had one of the best family holidays we have ever had. 10 weeks later, I was still relaxed. So much that we have booked to go back in July next year.However this time, I don’t want to be a heavy weight. When we returned home, I tipped the scales at 105kg, which is WAAAAAAAYYYYY too much for my height of around 164cm. Go googling and calculate the BMI on that – it’s not pretty.  I wasn’t happy with any of the photos that I was in – I avoided being in some of them, but I “had” to as I caught up with a couple of friends who I haven’t seen in several years & I wanted photos. Do you know what it’s like to have have to calculate weights to be able to ride some of the rides at theme parks? To wonder if you will fit in the seat? That’s how it was. It will be completely different next trip!

So when we came home I paid more attention to some websites and Facebook groups that I’d been stalking prior to our holiday. And I started making changes to what I was eating, without letting on to the rest of my household what I was doing.

We used to go the one of the local clubs for a Chinese meal every Saturday night, so I started eating less rice and stopped ordering chow mein to avoid the noodles. Little things that weren’t obvious, but made differences to me. Like no spring rolls. And I started losing weight. My husband has always been supportive of my dodgy dietary ideas & he noticed what I was doing & decided to jump on board to make it easier for me. We started ordering a plate of Chinese vegetables instead of rice. Then we decided we’d try one of the pubs for a change and we haven’t looked back. We still go out dinner every Saturday night, to the pub though, not to the Chinese restaurant.

Anyway, I talk too much. My plan is to share with you what we eat in our household these days, which is HEAPS different to how we used to eat!

We have been following an LCHF way of life. Which stands for Low Carb High (good) Fat. Lots of bacon, eggs, cheese, cream, butter, meat, chicken, mushrooms, avocado, asparagus, zucchini, broccoli & lots of other yummy foods. No sugar (unless it is naturally in the foods mentioned), no bread, pasta, rice, potatoes or other carb laden foods. Rest assured this is not the end of your life as you know it, it is the opening up of feeling better than you ever have before and getting rid of the bloating that you probably don’t even realise you have. One of the biggest rules of eating this way is that you only eat when you are hungry. We have been programmed over goodness knows how many years to eat by the clock, but seriously, after breakfast I don’t get hungry until around 4pm & then a handful of almonds will tide me over until dinner is ready.

As a starting point, I recommend you go to Big W or go online & buy a red cookbook called Real Meal Revolution. I can’t remember how much I paid for it but I think it would have been around the $20 – $30 mark. It is a worthwhile investment. Download the free app “My Fitness Pal” & start logging every thing you eat & drink. Get onto some Facebook groups –

https://www.facebook.com/groups/LCHF4LIFE/?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/LCHF1/?fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/groups/796942373660457/?fref=tsI

https://www.facebook.com/timnoakesrevolution/?fref=ts

These are full of ideas and inspiration. Good old Google is a great help when you are looking for low carb meals. Just like if you are looking for any meal, type it in & add “low carb” in the search & you will find something you can work with.

I will come back and tell you what I am eating at each meal; please bear with me as I also log it in My Fitness Pal, so I will feel like I am doing it twice. Today’s post is simply a bit of background and a bit of a point in the right direction of where to start.

I started by changing my breakfast to bacon and eggs every day. It can be hard to change every meal at once, so I suggest you change breakfast for a week and then change lunch (if you are even hungry for it). I don’t tend to eat lunch these days as I am simply not hungry. You need to listen to your body. I run a high school canteen and am surrounded by food every day. Food that is considered healthy by the Australian Dietary Guidelines but is not acceptable in the way of eating that I follow.

Like I said, I will come back shortly and share with you what I eating. If you have any questions in the meantime, please ask! I don’t know you have an question unless you ask it!

Cheers,

Karen.

 

 

 

One response to “A bit of background on why I changed what I eat.

  1. Erin says:

    Well done Karen that’s an amazing effort , I too have quit processed sugar and stopped eating junk and I couldn’t understand why I hadn’t lost any weight but you’ve just confirmed for me something that I knew and that is I need to stop the carbs . Keep up the good work xx

Leave a Reply

