the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Recent Bits & Pieces and Merry Christmas!

on December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas to you all!

Christmas in our house is spread over two days, with the Austrian tradition on celebrating Christmas on Christmas Eve and the Aussie/English tradition of celebrating on Christmas Day. Over the 24 years my husband & I have been together, it has made it easy when it comes to spreading ourselves out to see both sides of the family. One side each day – stress free, no rushing around to see both in the one day. So by this time of the day on Christmas Day we are finished except for the piece of turkey that is currently baking in the oven.

Which is how I come to be sitting at my computer, writing.

Never one to pass up the chance to laugh at myself, especially when it comes to city life vs country life, I have to share a conversation I had recently with the Agriculture Teacher at school. She told me she was getting some ducks and chickens prepared. A pause. I had a blank look on my face as I explained “I have absolutely no idea what that means, I am a city girl. Does it mean they are coming to the school farm?” (I run the canteen and thought maybe she was leading somewhere with egg supply or something).

This is what she meant:

prepared chook & duck

Lucky she has a good sense of humour. So of course I bought one of each and they were our Christmas dinner last night, on Christmas Eve. Yummy.

Speaking of Christmas, here are our crazies:

christmas crazies

As you all know, it was our first Christmas in our brand new house, with us moving in just in time. Don’t ever try to move house the week before Christmas when you are working, online shopping, packing, unpacking and co-ordinating connection of services. But hey, we survived, albeit a little crazy (as demonstrated by the kids in the above photo). We are still waiting for our rubbish bins to be delivered. Hopefully they will arrive on the truck when the street’s bins are emptied tomorrow. We are still using our friend’s bin they lent us.

The blinds have now been installed, it took 3 attempts to get them all done, due to the delays at the interstate factory trying to get all the orders done before Christmas. But now they are in. The phone and internet are connected and I’m still waiting for Foxtel to ring me back to tell me if they can connect us yesterday. Hmmmmm……….I’m guessing the answer is no.

Anyway, pics!

Please admire the blinds after all the stress I went through!

Master bedroom & quarters.

master bedroom with blinds

Rumpus room

rumpus room with blinds

Chilling in the main lounge room

chillaxing in new house

Pantry. A bit more fine tuning to be done over time, but the concept is there.

pantry still to be fine tuned

I was asked if I was going to blog our beautiful spice racks. Of course! I love them.

spice racks

And that’s where we are up to. I hope you have had / are having a lovely Christmas, some of you are not yet finished travelling or celebrating. Be careful & stay safe.

Karen.

2 responses to “Recent Bits & Pieces and Merry Christmas!

  1. Jacana says:

    I want your pantry.

  2. Thank you! I love my pantry. It’s like a whole (small) room all to itself!

Leave a Reply

