the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

We’re in!

on December 19, 2014

Yes, we moved into our new house last weekend, sans blinds, sans telephone connection and sans wheelie bins. Sans a whole lot of other things too, like turf, retaining walls and a clothesline, but that will all happen when it happens.

It is said that moving house ranks right up there with one of the most stressful events in life. I think this is my 17th address in my 44 years of life. I have found this move to be particularly stressful as it hasn’t been a case of just moving from one house to another. There is so much to coordinate when moving into a newly constructed house that it is difficult to pinpoint a moving date. For the past six weeks, I have been topping up the rent by another week or two & emailing the property manager “I’ve paid up until here but we might need another week or two”, so the poor land lord must be frustrated with us as it can’t be advertised until we’ve given a firm date. Which I’ve now done.

I had a long post written last night about how overwhelmed I was feeling. It’s not so much the packing and moving for me (my poor hubby gets to do all that heavy lifting), it’s the unpacking that I find overwhelming. Particularly yesterday, there were so many boxes and baskets and bags around the place that I didn’t know where to start. It was doing my head in, a beautiful house, filled with mess and we still had more to bring across from the other house. But today was a new day and we were both able to get a lot of unpacking done. And the place is looking so much better already. And much of the stress disappeared, making what I had written obsolete. Tomorrow we will tackle some more boxes. We’re determined to have everything in its place sooner rather than later. We don’t want boxes hanging around for months on end. If we haven’t used something in that time, then we probably don’t need it.

I won a small battle with the phone company today – they told us they can’t connect the home phone until the new year as there isn’t a technician available to come to site before then. If they’d organised themselves, they could have arranged for the technician who was onsite 5 houses away for most of today to connect our phone. But no, they aren’t that organised. They listened to reason and we will now be connected on Christmas Eve.

Seven of our blinds arrived and were installed today. There are 10 more to come, which are apparently still being made. They were all due last week but there is a 12 day delay at the factory due to everyone wanting their blinds before Christmas. Companies shouldn’t take so many orders in the lead up if it’s going to cause delays. If they had told me that they wouldn’t be ready before the new year, then I wouldn’t be stressing over them. But no, they told me we would have them before Christmas, so we organised to move, knowing our blinds would be here already. Hopefully the rest of them turn up early next week.

Council said it usually takes 1 or 2 weeks to get the wheelie bins delivered – really??? I find that a bit crazy. They are trying to get them to us this week but of course there are no guarantees. I hope they arrive before the council shuts for the Christmas break – could you imagine going 2 or 3 weeks with no bins? With Christmas thrown in there too. Luckily, friends who live in the street have a spare and offered to lend it to us until ours arrive. Thanks heaps! It’s so handy to move to a street where everyone has moved in only recently – they know what we might need before we’ve even thought of it.

Anyway, things are looking up. My issues really are first world problems. There is so much else going on with others and in the world that my stuff is insignificant in the grand scheme of life. But for now, it is my life, my family’s life.

I thought I’d share a couple of photos, just because I can.

1. Who on earth decided to put a power point in the middle of a cupboard? I must go back to the electrical plan and see if this one was on there, because it’s definitely not something we would have told them to do. Oh, and when I switch on the light in the walk in linen – the garage light comes on! I think they got some wiring wrong somewhere there…….

power point in cupboard

2. Push button light switches! They glow when switched off so you can see them in the dark. They were included in our package, otherwise we would have just had plain ones, but these ones are pretty. I wanted them opposite in that they glow when on instead of when off, (so the glow wouldn’t keep me awake) but they mixed it up but I can live with that. I quite like them.

push button light switches

3. My pantry, much messier than the photo I shared on my personal facebook page the other day. By the end of yesterday I could hardly see the floor and there’s no more room to add anything else to the shelves. But now I only have my spices in bags on the floor, until we attach our spice racks to the wall (I have to go and buy some more racks).

my pantry's a mess

4. Boxes to be unpacked into the buffet. Done today, with only one wineglass as a casualty. There are plenty of spares – I still have about 30, so don’t panic.

boxes waiting to be unpacked

The kids are enjoying the new house just as much as we are. Lots of friends from school close by means lots of play opportunities, perfect timing for the school holidays that have just started.

So that’s where we are up to.

Back with more when I have more to say.

Karen.

Leave a Reply

