the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Choosing to focus on the positive

on December 2, 2014

I think I must have been wearing my cranky pants today because several things got me offside.

As I sit here and type away I can see how little these things mean in the grand scheme of life.

From the bread that went mouldy too soon, to the supplier not supplying all of my order at work and not notifying me in advance so I could order alternate products, to the dog escaping, to Miss 7 being grumpy after tennis, to the hot and humid day (we are not used to this humidity anymore) – lots of things were annoying me. I’m sure there were many many more than these things.

I choose not to dwell on these and to focus on the positives of the day instead. The functioning air conditioner at work, the friendly people at work, the frozen cokes at McDonald’s this afternoon, the yummy dinner consisting of whatever landed in the pan, our health, the driveway formwork that was started at our new house, the fact that the kids have no homework for the rest of term, the dog coming home without costing us more money, the ease of which our phone should get connected, the council form I found easily so we can apply for our occupation certificate. I could go on. I won’t, but I will say that I am grateful for all the positives in my life.

Focus on the positive, not the negative and create happy days. That’s my thoughts anyway.

Here’s a house pic or two, because they make me happy!

1. Pic from across the road – not daily anymore.

Daily pic from across the road

2. There will be a path from the front porch to the driveway.

futute path from driveway to porch

3. Standing on our future driveway. Because I can.

from the driveway to the house

Hope your day was filled with more positives than negatives.

Karen.

Leave a Reply

