the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Lots of workmen today

on October 7, 2014

With the school holidays coming to an end, it was back to school for our younger two kids and back to work for me.

With the long weekend coming to an end, it was back to work for the tradies at our house. And work they did! The plumber and painters were there when I stopped by this afternoon for my daily fix.

So that means the taps are in place, I expect the toilets are in place (although I didn’t go inside the house and I also didn’t look at the rubbish pile) and as I drove away I noticed some extra fittings where the gas bottles will go. There is no natural gas here so we are having bottled gas for our cook top, which is completely normal here.

The replacement front door has arrived and has been stained in its final colour. It hasn’t been fitted yet, the damaged one is still on there. The timber above the front door in the decorative roof bit has also been stained in its final colour.

There was also a chap moving spare bricks from the front yard to the back. The start of the cleaning up process?

Here are today’s photos. I took one of the kitchen that I haven’t shared as the painter was working and I like to respect their privacy – the guys didn’t ask to be photographed at work. But it was great to see them in action.

1. Rather than go into the house and disturb the workers, I reached in through an open window and took a pic of our ensuite vanity, which now has a tap! I’m not sure about that white bit near the bottom left of the cupboards, it doesn’t look right to me. I’ll have to ask about it.

Ensuite vanity - taps have been installed

2. Painted downpipe, in Basalt to match the roof.

some of the downpipes have been painted

3. Underside of porch roof, awaiting plaster.

porch roof awaiting plaster

4. Through there is the new front door, stained and waiting to be installed. Currently filling in time in our bedroom.

new front door waiting to be fitted

5. Entrance with stained timber, with damaged door still on.

entrance stained today, still with old door

6. Timber above front door has been stained today. There is a bit more to be attached as part of the decoration.

bit above front door stained today

7. Daily pic from across the road.

daily pic from across the road

Of course I will drop by again tomorrow to see what’s happening.

Catch you then,

Karen.

Leave a Reply

