the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Our kitchen has started!

on September 11, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find a couple of workers onsite when the kids and I headed up to our block this afternoon. I could hear the noise of their generator and initially I thought it must have been the painters in early, spraying on paint. I was thrilled to learn it was the kitchen guys installing our kitchen and laundry cabinets.

I couldn’t see much from the front so I headed round the back to try to get clearer photos. One of the chaps came right out to the fence to talk to me. It turns out they have come just south of the Menai area of Sydney. Which is only an hour or so from where we used to live. Almost neighbours lol! With Metricon still fairly new in these parts, not all of their contractors will be local. But he was cheery and enthusiastic about my excitement at how fast it is all coming together, so I’m happy.

Whilst I was there, another fellow arrived, from the underfloor heating company. The main bathroom will have underfloor heating as part of our upgrade package. I’m thinking I will suddenly need to use their shower when winter comes around.

Ray rang the carpet place and ordered the carpet and the upgrade to the underlay with no dramas. The one we chose back in March is still available so we don’t need to make an appointment with them to view any more. I love it when things fall into place. Keeps it stress free. And the bank has returned to its regular prompt service and put through the progress payment that I dropped the paperwork in for yesterday. There’s only one more to go and that will be the final payment!

So of course now I am busting to see my our kitchen from the inside of the house. And my laundry. Patience is a virtue and all that.

Here are today’s photos, as best as I could get.

1. Daily pic from across the road.

Daily pic from across the road

2. Daily pic from back corner.

Daily pic from back corner

3. Laundry cabinets!

laundry cabinetry

4. Lots of reflection, but here’s where today’s action was happening. That’s the kitchen window in the centre.

lots of reflections but that's where the action is today

5. Warmth for our tootsies!

tradie arrived to install underfloor heating in bathroom

Again, I have no idea what I am going to be surprised with next. We’re on a magical mystery tour!

Back with more when I can.

Karen.

Leave a Reply

