the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

House Developments

on August 22, 2014

A glorious day in the Upper Hunter today (when you subtract the wind/breeze chill factor) was made even more glorious by how much work was done on our house construction.

The insulation batts are in place, the downpipes have been attached, the gyprock has been delivered and the timber feature above the front door has been put into place. THAT’S pretty exciting. The ground was dry enough for me to get around the back without getting my boots covered in mud. Although I am still well into next door’s yard when I do this. Which I won’t be able to do for much longer, as that house is almost finished.

I don’t know how much more I will be able to photograph next week, as the house will get to lockup stage. I remember our site manager saying early in the piece that they get us to have a walk through prior to that, but it hasn’t been mentioned since. We can always ask though. There are a couple of things that we would like to ask about, but that’s my hubby’s domain. He started out as a tradie, and what do I know about building a house? He’s not an expert but his Dad was a builder so Ray learned a lot from him over the years.

Here are today’s photos.

1. Daily pic from across the road. Notice the new bit above the front door.

Daily pic from across the road

2. Plaster/gyprock has been delivered. Have you ever seen a pile of walls? Well, now you have!

Gyprock walls in a pile

3. The seal around the garage window is coming out and needs to be fixed.

Garage window needs fixing

4. Close up of the timber work above the front door. This is not the final colour. Neither is the front door. They will be matching  colours at completion.

Timberwork above the front door

5. Downpipes are in. Again, not the final colour. They will be painted the equivalent of the roof colour, which is Basalt.

Downpipes are in

6. There’s insulation been fitted in there, between the window and the sliding door. Good ol’ Bradford Batts.

Insulation is in

7. Daily pic from back corner. Thanks Gary, for letting me walk on your property, even though you don’t know I do it lol! I promise I won’t do it after you’ve moved in.

Daily pic from back corner

And that’s where we are up to. 

We’ll see if the gyprock gets installed on Monday as per the plan. I am busting to see the front porch when it’s built. I’ve been back to the Metricon website tonight to see what it’s meant to look like. There is no display home of the Davenport model, due to the width of the block required to fit it. It doesn’t fit on a standard suburban block, so we had to rely on pictures online to see what it would look like. Two towns (half an hour) away there is one being built, so we did a drive by a couple of times so I could get a sense of the size of our house.

Anyway…….I’ll be back with more when I have more to share with you.

Karen.

Leave a Reply

