the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

My (lack of) Observation Skills

on July 9, 2014

You know, I have never thought of my observation skills as being very good. I spent 15 years in a career where I had to be observant and aware about what was going on around the place and be able to describe or recognise people, yet I wouldn’t even notice if you changed the paint colour in my your house.

Even in jobs I have had since then, I have needed to be observant. Yeah, nah. I still don’t think I’m there. So to all those friends who, over the years, I haven’t commented on your new hairstyle, shoes, nails, jewellery, etc, I’m sorry! I know I don’t notice stuff quickly, so often I don’t mention it in case you reply that you’ve had purple hair for a month and I’ve seen you five times since then. I don’t comment in case I’ve missed it, and I don’t want to embarrass myself or offend you by making my lack of observation skills obvious. I have two friends in particular who notice every little thing that is different. Which means they have awesome observation skills. (Makes me a touch envious). And they are awesome friends to boot. Hi Bek! Hi Tanya!

Anyway, that’s not what this post is about. It’s about my lack of observation skills in relation to our house construction. Or maybe my skills haven’t let me down. I’m in a bit of doubt here.

I saw this sign on the construction fence today. no smoking sign I don’t remember seeing that sign before today. I came home and had a look at my daily photos and there has been a sign in that position,  but that’s also where the Certifying Authority sign was, so I don’t know which one is in my earlier photos. I can’t zoom in far enough to read it, as it’s in the pic I take from across the road each day. Today, because I noticed it, I took a close up. Do you see why I doubt myself?

So please don’t think I’m rude if you change your appearance in some way and I don’t comment. I either haven’t realised, or I am trying to remember exactly how you looked last time I saw you and hoping I didn’t miss something! I promise I am working on improving my skills in this area. In the meantime, enjoy what is practically a repeat of recent photos from our block!  

1. Daily pic from across the road. daily pic across the road 2. Daily pic from back corner. daily pic back cornerHow are your observation skills?

Karen.

One response to “My (lack of) Observation Skills

  1. Jacana says:

    I am also a little hopeless. I don’t tend to notice new haircuts or new outfits etc.

Leave a Reply

