the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Mummy Guilt – we all have it

on March 13, 2014

Most of you know I’ve scored what I consider to be a fabulous job in a school canteen. Family friendly, I get to work when the kids are at school & I am home at night. I also get to drop them off & pick them up every day. And I get to spend school holidays with them.

Yes, I am aware that I am fortunate to be able to do this.

No, I am not rubbing it in to those of you who would like to do the school run but can’t.

So I had a particularly hectic day at work, thanks to an oven problem. I could tell I wasn’t going to leave on time, so I rang Miss 6’s school to get a message to her to catch the bus home. This would buy me more time and Mr 18 was at home to meet her. Mr 11 is away at camp.

All went well & I arrived home only a few minutes after Missy, who appeared to be in a good mood.

Later, she told me she nearly cried when I wasn’t there. And asked me when can I have a day off.

Gulp. Sniff. There’s that darned Mummy Guilt striking again.

You?

Karen.

Leave a Reply

