the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Learning to lower the standards

on June 4, 2013

Why do we put pressure on ourselves when we don’t need to?

I turned some kind of corner last night. I ignored my own pressure.

For some people, this is a trivial tale, but it is a turning point for me.

Dinner wasn’t on the table before 6 o’clock. Heaven forbid! It was around 7 before we sat down to eat.

Changing habits that have been in place for a long time, takes time. And it was only me who’s been concerned about dinner being ready by a particular time.  My hubby has always said not to worry, he can always cook something if I am too busy. And I tell you, he is a darned good cook. (But with the hours he puts in at work these days, he usually only gets the chance to cook on weekends). It’s me, putting pressure on me, trying to be “perfect”.

But not anymore. I proved to myself that I don’t have to start on dinner prep as soon as the kids come home. Or before they come home. I can have a cuppa and relax and we will get to eat dinner. When it’s ready, not when I think it has to be ready. And hubby came home from work just as I was dishing up, so he got to eat with us. Instead of coming home halfway through. Yay!

It’s called lowering the standards and I think I’m going to do it more often.

What standards have you allowed yourself to lower? We’ve all done it, so come on, spill.

Karen xx

Leave a Reply

