the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

It never rains, it pours

on May 3, 2013

This is the spoilt side of me having a whinge. But it’s not really a whinge, it’s more a stress release. Good stress, but I need to get it out of my head. Because it is giving me headaches.

Everything is happening at once. Which is positive because it’s all falling into place.

Most of you know we decided to sell our house that we have been renting out since we moved last year. Which meant throwing stress onto our tenants who had to find somewhere else to live. And who knows how long it takes to sell a house?

But in less than two weeks we’ve accepted a good offer after knocking back a couple & the buyer is powering ahead getting all the checks done to ensure nobody comes in over the top of him. Because these days it’s not yours until those contracts are exchanged. We’re signing our copy early next week, so it looks like all systems go. Yay!

We also decided to move house again ourselves. Into another rental in a different part of town to see what that area’s like. It’s important to do your research before buying and we haven’t yet found a place to buy that ticks enough boxes. A few have come close, but we’re still also toying with buying a couple of acres and building on it.

So anyway, we now start the job of packing (no removalists contracted by the company this time!) and moving ourselves. Change insurances, organise electricity connection, mail redirection, tell the schools, the list seems endless.
There’s a lease to sign, keys to collect, spares to be cut, carpets to be cleaned, keys to be returned, it’s a lot of co-ordinating. Which is what I do.

On top of all this, I have returned to the workforce this week. Getting the brain moving again & some adult conversation that doesn’t revolve around the kids. Preserving my sanity. If I have any left!

And just as all this was beginning we had the most amazing holiday. One of my two best friends got married on the beach on the Gold Coast and I got to be her witness! The day went perfectly with lots of tears and laughter. I can’t wait to see the professional photos. I reckon it was a pretty easy gig for the photographer as she didn’t have to coach us, we were laughing non stop.

I don’t have many photos of the ceremony because I was in it (hubby has pics on his computer) but here’s Bek the bride in the final stages of getting ready.

image

And here’s me. I look so different!

image

Here’s me now:

image

Heaps different hey?

So that’s my brain dump this morning. Feeling good again and off to collect some keys. And drop off a cheesecake I made for the school stall at the food & wine affair tomorrow. And drop some paperwork into work. And buy bread. And apples. And………..

At least the slow cooker’s on so dinner will be ready before I go to work this evening.

Does it ever end???

Hope your day’s not too stressful!

Cheers,

Karen. Xx

3 responses to “It never rains, it pours

  1. Salz says:

    It’s always good to have a good brain dump. I think you look gorgeous before and after. We have been doing what your doing with rentals. We rented here to see what this area is like and we don’t like it so we are thinking of other areas we may like. We are still stuck on Wollongong though so we may never buy a house in Sydney.

  2. Bek says:

    So busy on your head. Glad you shared some of it with us. Hope your day has been lovely. It’s pasta for dinner at my house. We are on our way home from Barrington Homes at Oran Park. It’s getting closer to happening. Yay.
    By the way, that was the most wonderful day of my life, thank you so much for being there for me. It means more than you will ever know.
    Hugs.

  3. patsy wyer says:

    i love reading your blog it makes me feel sane thanks for the la
    ughs xxxx

Leave a Reply

