the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

Good Old Fashioned Kindness

on April 8, 2013

I was on the receiving end of kindness from strangers today.

This morning, when I was about to head off to the high school canteen, my car wouldn’t start. Yep, a flat battery. Fortunately this happened at home, after the kids had gone to school.

Lucky, too, that we live in town, close to the main street. Off I trotted on Shank’s Pony to the spare parts shop. Apparently this means you are travelling on foot. I learned that today from the guy in the shop. And he said I was allowed to use that term now. So there you go, I used it. He gave me a quote for a new battery and offered to drop it off at my house.

I returned home and rang roadside assistance for a price on their batteries, but they were much dearer. So back to the spare parts shop I went, to pay for a battery and confirm the lovely man would deliver it for me.

On the way, I met two young guys whose ute had run out of gas and the driver’s wife had come with the other car to tow it to the service station. Because it’s not like you can fill a jerry can with LPG. I laughed with them about it & joked that I needed them at my place because my car was stuck in my driveway. Immediately they offered a jump-start but I explained I was on my way to buy a new battery. The driver offered to come and fit it for me. He wouldn’t hear of my hubby losing an hour out of his work day and insisted on doing it for me. So I gave my address to a complete stranger who, after towing and refuelling his own car, went to the spare parts shop to pick up my battery and turned up with it at my place to swap it over.

I don’t know who he is, but he did tell me he works at the tyre place in the next street but is currently on leave and I know he lives near the hospital,  a few streets away. I’m sure I owe him a beer or a lottery ticket. It shouldn’t be too hard to track him down.

And he was a P-Plater. Proves they can’t all be tarred with the same brush.

Do you have a kindness act to share? Either given or received?

 

Karen.

2 responses to “Good Old Fashioned Kindness

  1. Bek Williams says:

    Thats a beautiful post! Its lovely to know that thers are some nice people around. I had a lovely catch up with one of the nicest people I know who still live in my neighbourhood, and she is the type of friend i could ask anything of! Xoxoa

  2. Naomi says:

    I love to hear of stuff like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

