the huntered housewife

our family life, our way

3 ingredient Christmas Cake

on December 12, 2012


Yes, really.

3 ingredients.

Surely even I can manage that. Give me a recipe with 6 or more ingredients & I can guarantee you I probably won’t even attempt it. I’ve never made a fruit cake before.

So, here goes….

 

Mix 1 kg mixed dried fruit into 2 cups of cold coffee:

IMAG0943

 

Next morning it will look like this:

IMAG0979

 

Stir in 2 cups of sifted self-raising flour:

IMAG0983

 

I used 2 layers of baking paper to line my 20cm springform tin:

IMAG0984

 

Bake at 160 degrees for 1 hour 45 mins & voila:

IMAG0986

 

IMAG0995

 

IMAG0999

 

I recommend storing it like this:

IMAG1001

 

It is really,really yummy & apparently will keep for a couple of weeks if you don’t eat it all before then.

I found the recipe by googling “easy Christmas cake recipes” & found quite a few variations using chocolate milk, iced coffee milk, cold tea or fruit juice as the liquid. I’ve tasted one made with orange juice before but wasn’t really a fan. And don’t worry if you don’t like coffee, you can’t taste it. Not even a hint of it. Amazing! And it’s not a heavy fruit cake, this one’s nice & light.

Have you ever made a fruit or Christmas cake? Do you look for the easy peasy recipes like I do, or do you have a family recipe? Perhaps you have something else you make (or would like to make) at Christmas time?

Please share it with me.

 

Karen. xx

(Here’s the page I found this recipe: http://www.taste.com.au/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6354)

2 responses to “3 ingredient Christmas Cake

  1. Bek says:

    Sorry, you lost me at 2 cups of coffee! But glad you enjoyed it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

